Governance and funding

The Pediatric Praziquantel Consortium was founded in July 2012 as the first international, non-profit, public-private partnership in schistosomiasis, supported by world leading experts in tropical parasitic infectious diseases. Partners contribute by providing (in-kind) expertise and resources; Merck also contributes with funding. In addition, the Consortium received grants from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, EDCTP and the GHIT Fund.

The Consortium uses an innovative approach that engages new partners as needed, to ensure rapid development of a successful new pediatric praziquantel formulation. The model is built on a solid governance structure:

  • A Core Project Team of experienced leading scientists led by Merck designs, drives and implements the development program. Subteams are in place to tackle specific areas of responsibilities (CMC, Clinical, Regulatory, Communication, Access).
  • The project team reports to a Consortium Board, chaired by Merck, which is composed by high level executives from various consortium partners. TThe board meets at least on an annual basis to review program progress and to provide strategic guidance.
  • Further support comes from a scientific advisory panel of renowned international experts in schistosomiasis, pediatrics and other related disciplines. This dynamic panel meets on a regular basis during so-called ‘expert meetings’ to assess and review scientific aspects relevant to the project phase.  The Consortium also greatly benefits from the expertise of non-governmental organizations, like the WHO.  Visit our timeline for an overview of the different expert meetings.


The Consortium is financially supported by Merck; in-kind contributions from the Consortium’s partners; and grants from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (2012), the Global Health Innovative Technology Fund (GHIT) (2013, 2014, 2016, 2019 & 2021), and the European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP), under its second program supported by the European Union (2018 & 2021).